top of page

CCU Spotlight: Jester's Forge Digital Art


“First and foremost: I am an artist. Utilizing the tools at my disposal, I strive to create powerful and effective imagery. My degrees are in Multimedia Studies (Graphic Design) and Photography. I was first published in 2010 but I have provided marketing and advertising work for private businesses for 15 years. I have been both a casual and a professional photographer for over 20 years. In short, I have a lot of experience and a LOT of work has gone into creating my images. Outside of that, I will let my work speak for itself.

Never Stop Creating!!

~Jester”

CCU: So, what got you started in Photography?

JESTER’S FORGE: I purposefully started taking pictures in my teens with the intent of capturing moments and images that I thought were meaningful.

CCU: What are some of the things you love about doing Cosplay Photography?

JESTER’S FORGE: I have always been a big fan of superheroes and comic books. I got seriously into cosplay photography when I met Jason kiss at the studio 95 North photo shoot in Middletown hosted by you. It kind of took off from there.

CCU: What has been one of your most challenging shoots?

JESTER’S FORGE: in 2013, I hosted a private Studio shoot with 13 models that took me almost 16 hours. At the end of the day I was exhausted but had a reel of extremely promising photography. I continue to return to that reel to this day.

CCU: What is a trend that you wish would go away from Cosplay?

JESTER’S FORGE: the trend in which cosplayers are reluctant to have their hard work and dedication to their art preserved. Every time a cosplayer thanks me for making them feel like they deserve to be in the Persona they portray, is a giant win for me and for the cosplay community.

CCU: How has the constant Instagram algorithm change impacted your connect to your supporters?

JESTER’S FORGE: I honestly have no knowledge about social media and its algorithms. I have no doubt that they affect me and my work, but I simply do not know or care enough to cater to them.

CCU: What are somethings that you feel Cosplayers should take into consideration when contacting photographers to shoot?

JESTER’S FORGE: the simple fact that professional photographers are in fact a business. It is how we make a living. If you're going to contact a photographer with the intention of creating images utilizing your cosplay, it is important to respect the photographer enough to follow through with your intentions and to properly compensate them for their artistic effort.

CCU: Who are some of your fav. Cosplayers to work with?

JESTER’S FORGE: There are too many to name but, my greatest and most frequent work has been with my close circle of Cosplay models: Jason Kiss, Devi Moonan, Lena Vega, Lee Mumford, Karen Adamczyk, and Matt Irizarry.

CCU: What are some of your fav. Cons to go to?

JESTER’S FORGE: I have only recently returned to the con circuit and I view all of them as a wonderful and creative environment in which to grow and meet amazing artists.

CCU: What could Cons do to make things a bit easier for Cosplay Photographers?

JESTER’S FORGE: advertise the specific photographers that intend to be present during their convention and encourage cosplayers to meet and interact with them.

CCU: What’s one thing you know now about Cosplay Photography that you wish you knew before?

JESTER’S FORGE: that action shots are far more fun to edit than static poses.

CCU: What are some pieces of advice that you would give to up and coming Cosplay photographers?

JESTER’S FORGE: Practice. Be familiar with you work currently available and present in the world. Continue to refine and perfect your style until you are confident that your work is of sufficient quality.

CCU: Thank you for taking time out to do the interview. Is there anything you would like to say to the readers and supporters?

JESTER’S FORGE: Never stop creating. You are not alone. Take pride in your art.

For more on Jester's Forge:


bottom of page