top of page

CCU Spotlight: Christian Mercymaster


Christian Mercymaster is a Cosplayer, Big Nerd and a huge gamer. Did I mention that he is a big fan of Overwatch.

CCU: So, what got you started in Cosplay?

Christian Mercymaster: What got me into cosplay was the community like I was always shy and bullied in school, so I never showed this nerdy side until I was taken to my first con and it changed me and I saw that I can show my talents and love for these characters.

CCU: Who are some of the Cosplayers that you look up to?

Christian Mercymaster: The cosplayers I look up to are my friends: Savage, Matt, Jo, Breanna and Lena. They are amazing cosplayers the talent they show when they do cosplays is amazing and I just wanna get to their level they make me keep going and they are amazing people.

CCU: What have been some of your fav. Cosplays to do?

Christian Mercymaster: My favorite cosplays that I have done are my Reinhardt because that character is jolly and kind and I see myself a lot my newest one Spider-Man I loved it and my new Bakugo this year.

CCU: What is a trend that you wish would go away from Cosplay?

Christian Mercymaster: Homestuck, LOL, I don’t know if I said it right but yeah.

CCU: What is one of your hardest Cosplays to do?

Christian Mercymaster: Reinhardt, the movement and people bumping into me plus I’m too big to move around.

CCU: What would you like to see more of in the world of Cosplay?

Christian Mercymaster: More people like getting out and showing what they can do or giving it a try. A lot of people say I don’t wanna go because I don’t cosplay. You don’t have to Cosplay to go enjoy the world of it.

CCU: What is next on your line up of Cosplays to do?

Christian Mercymaster: I have a Gundam cosplay group in the works for next year and something else but that is a secret.

CCU: What are some of your fav. Cons to go to?

Christian Mercymaster: Pax East is my favorite so far CTCONN is a hit or miss and Boston Fan Expo for sure.

CCU: What could Cons do to make things a bit easier for Cosplayers?

Christian Mercymaster: Be more relaxed during kinda risky cosplays. Like the people are trying to do the character to perfection, of course don’t let someone be naked, but like sometimes people get in trouble like guys for being shirtless. Some Cons hate on that, when the character is shirtless.

CCU: What’s one thing you know now about Cosplaying that you wish you knew before?

Christian Mercymaster: How to keep yourself cool and pockets to hold your phone.

CCU: What are some pieces of advice that you would give to up and coming Cosplayers?

Christian Mercymaster: Don’t give up and push through it like sometimes, the material and the stuff you work with can fight back. The armor or fabric or weapon won’t come out like you want to but you learn from failure and the only way you get better is to not give up.

CCU: Thank you for taking time out to do the interview. Is there anything you would like to say to the readers and supporters?

Christian Mercymaster: I would like to say be kind to other Cosplayers and just be a good person. You might meet weird people or awkward people. OK, weird as heck, but show Everyone the respect you want them to show you and don’t give up on what you work on, because it will come out amazing.

bottom of page